Duan Wei

The Duan Wei System was set up by the Chinese Wushu Association in conjunction with the National Sport Commission and the Chinese Wushu Research Institute in an effort to provide an international standard for Wushu / Tai Chi gradings. The term Duan means level and Wei means grading. There are nine Duan: Elementary Levels (1 to 3), Intermediate Levels (4 to 6) and Advanced Levels (7 to 9).

Elementary Levels (1 to 3)
If a student is dedicated to their studies, developing their skills through effort and hard work, it is possible to gain a 1st, possibly a 2nd Duan Wei in one year of continuous study if they should pass the required examinations. One must be a full-time student of Chinese martial arts between one to two years before being allowed to test for the 3rd Duan Wei. Average students do not acquire these levels easily though, usually attaining only one level per year of continuous study.

Intermediate Levels (4 to 6)
These levels are for students and teachers of Wushu who are able to instruct and have undergone many years of study and/or coaching experience, depending on the level applied for. In order to obtain a 4th Duan Wei, the least amount of time required to apply for the test is two years of continuous, full-time study. One must be able to teach, to use one’s skills in combat and above all, practise good moral conduct to attain 4th Duan Wei. From the 5th Duan Wei application onwards, there must be proof of either: training of your own Duan Wei level tested students, publications, instructional DVDs, or scientific research in your chosen martial art. After obtaining the 6th Duan Wei, one may start to use the title of Master. The 6th Duan Wei is also the highest technical grade.

Advanced Levels (7 to 9)
These prestigious Duan Wei level ranks are reserved for the rare few who have attained an excellent reputation through their practice and have done a lot of work to promote martial arts. Such lauded masters may officially use the term “Grand Master” when referring to their title.


Duan Wei 1
Advance / jìn bù   进步 / iskorak:
Deflect, parry, punch / bān lán chuí   搬拦捶 / skretanje, odbijanje i udarac

Retreat / tuì bù   退步 / korak unazad:
Piercing palm / chuān   穿 / prodorni dlan    +    Push / àn   按 / pritisnuti


About John Rogers

In short, I'm a Taiji Quan practitioner looking to generate interest in, and enthusiasm for Taiji in as many people as possible in Montenegro and neighbouring countries.
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.