Seven weeks, fifteen photos: my trip to Thailand and China (Feb.-March)

The first leg of my journey was Chiang Mai, in the north of Thailand, where I had arranged to meet an old Tai Chi friend of mine.  There, I practised with the local group in Buak Haad Park, as well as in the parking lot of my guest house when the park was no longer accessible owing to the Flower Festival.
Next destination: Nakhon Sawan (approximately halfway between Chiang Mai and Bangkok) to attend a one-week Tai Chi seminar with Master Zhao Liang, my Sifu’s son.

Master Zhao You Bin started teaching in Thailand about 10 years ago. The Nakhon Sawan group is well-established (and hard-working!)

Master Zhao You Bin started teaching in Thailand about 10 years ago. The Nakhon Sawan group is well-established (and hard-working!)

Nakhon Sawan, Thailand: Breakfast in the park after Taiji practice. Mr Zhao Liang with wife and daughter.

Nakhon Sawan, Thailand: Breakfast in the park after Taiji practice. Mr Zhao Liang with wife and daughter.

Nakhon Sawan: with Master Zhao Liang at the end of a day's training

Nakhon Sawan: with Master Zhao Liang at the end of a day’s training

Nakhon Sawan: getting ready for a duan wei routine at sunset with Master Zhao Liang

Nakhon Sawan: getting ready for a duan wei routine at sunset with Master Zhao Liang

After Nakhon Sawan, I went to China. While I was in Xi’An with his father, Zhao Liang was giving a masterclass in Bangkok. We were to meet again in Bangkok at the end of his masterclass, as my flight back to Montenegro was from Bangkok.

At Master Zhao You Bin’s wuguan in Xi’An, I first trained with Master Cher.

With Master Cher, one of Mr Zhao You Bin' disciples and senior teachers.

With Master Cher, one of Mr Zhao You Bin’ disciples and senior teachers.

Then with Master Zhao You Bin.

With Master Zhao You Bin, my Sifu, at his wuguan in Xi'An

With Master Zhao You Bin, my Sifu, at his wuguan in Xi’An

Master Cher is a high-level instructor, and an inspired teacher

Master Cher is a high-level instructor, and an inspired teacher

There always comes a time when you have to say goodbye ...

There always comes a time when you have to say goodbye …

After Xi’An, Bangkok again for a few days.

Last day of Master Zhao Liang's Bangkok masterclass in Lumpini Park

Last day of Master Zhao Liang’s Bangkok masterclass in Lumpini Park

So, this was essentially a Taiji trip, focused on training and learning.
However, I did manage to squeeze in a few sightseeing tours:

Sitting among orchids at Chiang Mai's yearly Flower Festival

Sitting among orchids at Chiang Mai’s yearly Flower Festival

At Doi Suthep, the jewel in Chaing Mai's crown of temples

At Doi Suthep, the jewel in Chaing Mai’s crown of temples

Inside the Glass Temple at Uthai Thani

Inside the Glass Temple at Uthai Thani

Admiring the Reclining Buddha (Bangkok)

Admiring the Reclining Buddha (Bangkok)

I took over 150 photos, and from these I have chosen two which for me somehow best capture the spirit  of the whole trip (and in many ways the spirit of Taiji as well):
20150203_120703IMG_0579

About John Rogers

In short, I'm a Taiji Quan practitioner looking to generate interest in, and enthusiasm for Taiji in as many people as possible in Montenegro and neighbouring countries.
This entry was posted in Taiji. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven weeks, fifteen photos: my trip to Thailand and China (Feb.-March)

  1. ana says:

    Beautiful and inspiring!!

Comments are closed.